Request for option to set width of The Front Line

Ask, comment, read.
willgamer
Captain
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:53 pm

Request for option to set width of The Front Line

Unread postby willgamer » Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:44 pm

As I play more, The Front Line is increasingly intrusive, calling too much attention to itself (especially after many hours of consecutive play ;) ).

Of course, some players will like it just the way it is.

So I'm thinking a setup option may be helpful.

Please provide a setup option to allow the width of The Front Line to be set, for example, as either normal, thin, or thin plus faint. :idea:

User avatar
Tomislav Uzelac
2x2 Games
Posts: 1857
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:24 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Request for option to set width of The Front Line

Unread postby Tomislav Uzelac » Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:59 pm

Nenad actually runs a custom version of the code with a thin front line all the time. I suppose this is one of the rare instances where my opinion carried the day on a graphical design issue :)

My logic for having the front line really stand out is that it's such an important element in the game: it blocks supply and the enemy ZOCs don't extend over it. True it sometimes obscures the terrain, but so do the units!

I must admit my gut feeling is against providing an option for this, especially as a quick tap on the "T" hotkey will show you the terrain instantly. The lakes you mention may be hidden by the front line, but you can easily see them with "T" because they are never obscured by units.

willgamer
Captain
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:53 pm

Re: Request for option to set width of The Front Line

Unread postby willgamer » Fri Dec 02, 2011 3:19 pm


User avatar
Tomislav Uzelac
2x2 Games
Posts: 1857
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:24 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Request for option to set width of The Front Line

Unread postby Tomislav Uzelac » Fri Dec 02, 2011 4:10 pm


willgamer
Captain
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 9:53 pm

Re: Request for option to set width of The Front Line

Unread postby willgamer » Fri Dec 02, 2011 8:35 pm


User avatar
Tomislav Uzelac
2x2 Games
Posts: 1857
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:24 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Request for option to set width of The Front Line

Unread postby Tomislav Uzelac » Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:41 am