net id conflict

Post your technical problems here.
logan5
First Lieutenant
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:25 pm

net id conflict

Unread postby logan5 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:29 am

trying to connect to a game and it says "net id conflict", can anyone help

User avatar
2xPelin
2x2 Games
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: net id conflict

Unread postby 2xPelin » Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:30 am

Are you connecting as p1 or p2? I'm connected as p2 - Axis. ( You have said you want to play as Soviets)

logan5
First Lieutenant
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:25 pm

Re: net id conflict

Unread postby logan5 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:33 am

maybe you have to close your turn?.. either that or you gave me the wrong code

User avatar
2xPelin
2x2 Games
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: net id conflict

Unread postby 2xPelin » Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:50 am

Sorted :)

If you start a network game, you can't change sides :)

In another words, when you connect as P1/2 nobody else can connect as you.

logan5
First Lieutenant
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:25 pm

Re: net id conflict

Unread postby logan5 » Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:30 am

game is working, how do i know if you are done with your turn

metolius
Second Lieutenant
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 5:04 am

Re: net id conflict

Unread postby metolius » Sun Apr 01, 2012 10:15 pm

I'm getting this, too, and I'm pretty sure that I'm connecting as the 'right' player.

In this case, the other player 'created' a game (so he's P1) and he sent me the code. I've pasted in the code and selected P2, and I'm getting this error.

Any ideas?

User avatar
Tomislav Uzelac
2x2 Games
Posts: 1336
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:24 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: net id conflict

Unread postby Tomislav Uzelac » Mon Apr 02, 2012 7:48 am

Hi,

could you post the game code please so we can look it up in the logs?

Delta66
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:09 am

Re: net id conflict

Unread postby Delta66 » Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:18 am

metolius wrote:I'm getting this, too, and I'm pretty sure that I'm connecting as the 'right' player.

In this case, the other player 'created' a game (so he's P1) and he sent me the code. I've pasted in the code and selected P2, and I'm getting this error.

Any ideas?


I think I understand where the error for the previous game came from.

I started the Game as P1 as usual, playing my turn in the evening.
Then the next day around noon, I checked the game to see if you have made your turn.
I think, the error came here, as I might have connected as P2 instead of P1. For some reasons the P2 button was highlighted by default and I didn't noticed it until it was too late.

It seems that the game key the P1 and P2 to IP adress or something similar.
So once I had registered as P1 and P2 both sides were locked to my computer.

So we should be particularly carefull when we log in to a game for the first time. If we mistakenly log in as the wrong player later, I think we'll have a different error, but a recoverable one.

christo99
Cadet
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 9:13 am

Re: net id conflict

Unread postby christo99 » Tue May 08, 2012 9:19 am

Hi
I set up an internet game with my brother in Australia, he set one up first and I was the second player. When I inserted the code for game and tried to connect I obtained the same net id conflict as identified in this thread. I then set another game up at my end and my brother became the second player. He reported the same net id conflict when he tried to connect as the second player.

Could you please tell me what the solution to this problem is as we would both like to play this game online. I can provide the codes to these games.

Thanks
Chris

User avatar
Tomislav Uzelac
2x2 Games
Posts: 1336
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:24 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: net id conflict

Unread postby Tomislav Uzelac » Tue May 08, 2012 9:50 am

Hi christo,

what happended to Delta66 here is the only thing that comes to mind:

1. let's say you start a game with this code: "ABC123". You are then P1 in this game.

2. when your brother later connects to game "ABC123" as P2, then that side of the game gets locked to his computer.

3. the problem: if you connect to the game yourself before your brother connects for the first time. Let's say also that you forget to check the P1 button (remember, P2 is set by default). In that case, you connected to the game as P2, so now both P1 and P2 are locked to your computer. Your brother gets the error message.

Please check once more that this is not what's happenning. This is the most common situation. If you still have problems, please send the game codes to support at unityofcommand.net and we'll take a look at it.


Cheers!